Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Lemon Syrup Cake

This is a wonderful recipe inspired by my friend Debbie from Cape Town. I decided to re-invent my chocolate cake recipe by omitting a couple of ingredients and turning it into a lemon cake.  After a few tried and tested attempts, I think I’ve finally conquered. Here it is, a lovely moist lemon cake inspired by the chocolate cake 
1.5 Cups of Flour
1 Cup Castor Sugar
1 Cup Oil
1 Cup Milk
2 Eggs
1 tsp Baking powder
1 tsp Bicarb of Soda
Rind of one lemon

Mix everything together (I use my electric beater). The mixture will be quite runny but that’s fine. Bake at 160 degrees for 40 minutes. I use a ringed baking tin – it’s a pretty shape.

ringed cake baking tin

While the mixture is baking, prepare the sauce.
In a saucepan, combine 150g of granulated sugar with the juice of 2 lemons. Don’t bring to the boil, but allow the sugar to dissolve properly. As soon as the cake comes out of the oven, pour the sauce over the cake that is still in the cake tin. Once cooled you can turn upside down and place on a pretty cake plate

Beautifully moist lemon cake

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Lemon Syrup Cake

  1. Pingback: White henna by Nindya Tricam Henna Studio | The Sparkling Labyrinth

Leave a Reply

