Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Wholewheat Bread

Wholewheat bread

Baking bread is not my forte. My family doesn’t eat a lot of bread so I never bake and seldom buy. When I saw this recipe in the September 2012 issue of Fresh Living I thought I’d give it a bash. What a stunning, easy recipe. My only hiccup (as you can see on the picture) is that I don’t have the correct size bread baking tin.  Instead of a tall, slender bread, mine is long and flat. Not serious, the taste is there. Here’s the recipe…….

2 cups (500ml) buttermilk
5 cups (1.25L) nutty wheat flour
1 cup (250ml) rolled oats
½ cup (75g) flour
1 tsp (5ml) salt
1 packet (10g) instant yeast
makes 1 loaf

Preheat oven to 70°C.
Heat buttermilk until just warm and stir through nutty wheat, rolled oats, flour, salt and yeast.  Pour into a greased bread tin and bake until bread has risen three-quarters of the way up tin – about 30
minutes. Increase heat to 220°C and bake for another hour or until cooked through. Set aside to cool slightly, then remove from tin and continue to cool. Serve with farm-fresh butter and preserves.
I served mine with blue cheese and onion marmalade.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Wholewheat Bread

  1. mmm…! will definitely try this!

    I’m not a very good bread maker but this looks very easy!

    thanks xxx

Leave a Reply

