Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Creamy Mussel and caper Linguini

If you’ve read my post on “Lasagne” you’ll know that I’ve been cooking pasta since I was 16. All the years I’ve been buying my pasta: not because I’m lazy, but because I feared making my own and thought it was reserved for the professionals. This all changed about a week ago when walking past “Home Etc.” and spotted a pasta maker in the window. I decided there and then that I will overcome this mind set and fear and consult the professionals for help in making my own pasta. After all I am a home-grown kind of girl. I love fresh produce, home grown and home-made goodies. Yesterday I sent the one and only Italian Mama that I know in Durban a tweet asking for her help. The gorgeous Janine Trapepi sent me a link to her beautiful blog tutorial on how to make home-made pasta. I immediately surged with enthusiasm and got cracking. The results were outstanding. My husband said it was the best pasta he’s ever eaten and I couldn’t agree more. To see the recipe on Janice’s blog on how to make pasta, click HERE)
Ingredients:
50g butter
2 garlic cloves finely chopped
80ml pickled capers
1 cup white wine
½ bunch parsley chopped
30ml fish sauce
500g mussels (I removed the shells)
1 tub of cream
Fresh pasta for 4 people (see recipe on how to make pasta HERE)

Method:
In a heavy based saucepan melt the butter. Add garlic and saute on low for a few minutes. Add the wine, fish sauce and parsley and leave to simmer for about 10 minutes. Add the mussels and continue to simmer for another 20 minutes or until mussels are done. Add cream and leave to simmer till sauce starts to thicken. If you want to speed up the thickening process, mix a tablespoon of cornflour with a small splash of water. Combine till a thick paste has formed. Add to mussel mixture and stir till well combined and sauce has thickened.

In a seperate pot, bring the linguini to a boil in salt water and allow to boil till al dente. Drain linguini and mix into the mussel sauce. Serve with Italian bread and salad.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

