Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Crustless Milk Tart

I have very fond memories of my ouma who sadly passed away when I was only 14.  We had a special bond so many meaningful conversations happened around the kitchen table.  During school holidays I would travel to Upington to spend time with her and oupa who lived on a farm just outside the “dorp”.   I would sit at the kitchen table admiring and observing her as she happily stirred huge pots of apricot jam that she was in the process of making or kneading dough for freshly baked farmhouse bread.  She was very talented in the kitchen which was clearly visible in her ability to make beautiful food.  Before they moved to Upington my grandparents lived next door to us so I would go there every afternoon after school.  A smell that reminds me of my childhood is the waft of freshly fried vetkoek that would be drifting down the path as I arrived home.   I absolutely loved vetkoek and would devour the sweet, crunchy, doughy delights that were generously sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon.  Some days (especially in the winter) she would make them with savoury mince.

These memories, together with my Afrikaans roots are embedded in my existence and even though I love Italian food, my natural leaning is towards my heritage.   A recipe that screams Afrikaans culture is the good and faithful milk tart.  This easy tart has donned the dining room table of many a South African home and it is yet another fond memory I have of my beloved ouma.

You will need:
½ cup flour
½ tsp. baking powder
Pinch of salt
Tbsp. butter
2 eggs (separated)
½ cup sugar
2cups milk

Method:
Sift dry ingredients together and set aside.  Cream the butter and sugar and add the egg yolks and beat till creamy.  Add dry ingredients and milk.  Combine well.  Beat the egg whites till stiff peaks form and add to the egg/milk mixture.  Pour into a round oven proof dish and bake at 190˚ for 30 – 40 minutes or until done.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

