Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Creamy Chicken and mushroom Risotto

Many moons ago, as a working mom with two small children, I always opted for quick and easy meals. After a long day in the office, dealing with all sorts of issues, sitting in traffic and still needing to pop in at the shops, the last priority of providing a meal for the family was often shunted aside. Unfortunately for me, those quick and easy meals came in the form of either pre-packed, frozen or takeaways. I couldn’t have been further away from being stereotyped as a lazy mom. I was hard working, tired and way too thin. Weekends, however was a completely different scenario. I was relaxed and at home and could do what I loved doing most, experimental cooking and baking.

I am convinced I was born to be a home-maker because this is where I shone. I spent my weekends in the kitchen trying to improve my cooking skills so that I could turn out quick and healthy meals for my young family. All the recipes that I concocted and tested which turned out good I recorded in a little book which I still have and refer to today. These recipes are slowly but surely getting transferred onto my blog. One of the easy peasy recipes that I wrote that long ago is my version of creamy chicken and mushroom which I used to serve with rice till I mastered the art of cooking risotto. I have since modified my recipe to incorporate the risotto which is absolutely delicious.

My recipe has 5 major elements which include:
1 packet of chicken breasts cut into cubes
1 packet of mushroom sliced
1 cup white wine
1 tub of cream
1 cup uncooked risotto

Method:
Melt a stick of salted butter and add the mushrooms. Cook until tender. Remove from pan and set aside. In the same pan, fry the chicken till done. Add a clove of garlic and a cup of white wine. Allow to simmer for about 10 minutes before you add the cream. I pre-cooked the risotto on its own in some salted water before I drained it and added it to the creamy chicken. Place a lid over the pan, turn the stove off and allow the risotto to cook further with the creamy chicken. Serve with a salad or enjoy on its own. A delicious dish of comfort food!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Creamy Chicken and mushroom Risotto

  1. Pingback: Butternut Risotto | Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Leave a Reply

