Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Butternut Salad

If you ever thought butternut was only for winter and soup you’d be very wrong. Who would have thought that raw butternut is appetizing and appealing. Well it is! I love it and in my view it has a taste very similar to spanspek which is a delicious fruit now in season and one that I grew up on. This easy, delicious, 3 ingredient salad is so refreshing and an absolute winner for a braai.

Being a beautiful day in Durban, I thought I’d make a lovely barbeque chicken and butternut salad for dinner which is a light and easy meal. One of my friends or family in CT gave this recipe to me a few years ago because it’s recorded in my little black book of recipes but for the life of me I cannot remember who, so if you are the brains behind this gorgeous salad, please let me know so I can give you credit on my blog.

You will need
1 butternut, peel and grated
1 can crushed pineapple (including juice)
1 packet peach jelly (just powder, don’t prepare)

Mix all together, cover in cling wrap and refrigerate till needed. Give a good stir before serving as the peach jelly granules would have dissolved.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Butternut Salad

  1. gailjoancrouch@gmail.com on said:

    I make it in summer when we have braai’s its yum yum.

  2. Fazloena Victor on said:

    Hi there,

    Can i use orange jelly or MUST it be peach jelly.

    Regards
    Fazloena

  3. The same basic recipe was passed onto me (by a lady also coming from Cape Town – my wife). Her combinations are grated raw butternut, granadilla pulp & lemon juice. The granadilla pips add a bit of crunch and the lemon juice gives a that zing. Definitely to be left overnight in the fridge for the butternut flavor to develop. Great salad!

Leave a Reply

