Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Lime & Thyme Roast Chicken

Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 001 (476x317) copy
It’s a Saturday morning, I wake up quite late and I’m feeling the aftermath of a very busy week. I sluggishly climb out of bed wishing I could climb back and just stay there for the rest of the day while my family wait on me like a sick patient.
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 003 (476x317) copy
After pulling myself toward myself, my thoughts are back to reality and I’m mentally planning a way forward for the day. I have an appointment with the builder at 9:30 and I must feed my family. That’s about as far as my planning for the day is going. As for lunch, I took a large whole chicken out the freezer yesterday and no doubt have to cook it today.
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 015 (476x317) copy
Looking for some inspiration with regard to cooking my bird, I tweeted my fellow foodies and requested some ideas. My friend Andrew (click here to follow Andrew on Twitter), who is also the Executive Chef at the Drakensberg Sun sent me some fabulous tips and inspiration for a Roast Chicken that he makes (which I’ve called Lime & Thyme) which he has allowed me to share with you. He is a phenomenal chef and I feel truly privileged to be able to share this recipe with you. Thank You Andrew!
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 016 (476x317) copy
Lime & Thyme Roast Chicken
1 Whole Chicken
5 cloves of garlic (crushed)
Juice of 2 limes
10ml cumin
125ml white wine (I used Lamond)
Half an onion
15ml fresh thyme leaves
Seasoning

Rub inside and outside of the chicken with 2 of the garlic cloves and season with salt and pepper. Place the remaining ingredients in a food processor and blend. Pour over the chicken and marinade for a few hours turning the chicken every so often. Place in a casserole dish in the oven and roast at 180 degrees until done and chicken is golden and skin is crispy.
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 007 (476x317) copy
Roasted Red Onion
Cut 3 red onions in quarters and place in an oven roasting dish. Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Roast till onions are done. They’ll be soft, sweet and juicy. Serve on a bed of rocket with feta cheese.
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 010 (476x317) copy
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 011 (476x317) copy
I also served this delish lunch with Garlic and Thyme Roast Potatoes
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 017 (476x317) copy
Roast Chicken & Roasted Red Onion 020 (476x317) copy

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Lime & Thyme Roast Chicken

  1. Pingback: Some Like It Crispy: Crispy Skin Black Sea Bass with Fried Potatoes and Sauteed Spinach, Topped with Roasted Red Pepper and Thyme Oil « Fiery Ginger

Leave a Reply

