Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Carrot & Sunflower Seed Muffins


My mom and ouma always told me when I was growing up that if I ate all my carrots I’d be able to see in the dark.  My friends on the other hand believed that if you ate carrots your hair would turn orange.  I was caught between a rock and a hard place not knowing what to do.  I took my chances though and decided to eat all my carrots because who doesn’t want to be a Super Hero and see in the dark?  An orange haired Super Hero – what’s wrong with that picture “Kim Possible”?   I only understood the importance of my mom and ouma’s little myth when I was grown up and had children of my own.  I constantly drummed into their heads that exact same fable that got me eating all my carrots even though I never had a problem with my children eating vegetables.  I think it’s the traditional “Afrikaans” way I was taught to prepare them that made all the difference.  My mom made them sweet, sticky and glazed and they were just delicious.  I make them that way too and my children love them.  Carrots was one of the vegetables that always accompanied our Sunday lunches along with the green beans and pumpkin that was made with cinnamon sticks and lots of real butter…..hmmm childhood memories.  This brings me to the issue of raw carrots………not quite the same as the yummy sweet, sticky ones but nevertheless a carrot is a carrot and even the raw ones can be delicious.

My favourite all time mid-morning snack is a cup of good coffee (that we import from Cape Town) and a delicious muffin, whether it be bran, cheese or carrot.  My carrot muffins are Gluten free and made with sunflower seeds and lots of love.

Makes 15 muffins
Preparation time: 15 minutes
Baking time: 20 minutes
Oven Temperature: 200°C

Dry Ingredients
370g Gluten free Cake flour
2 medium carrots (grated)
150ml sunflower seeds
20ml baking powder
2ml Xanthum Gum
5ml salt
75ml brown sugar
5ml ground cinnamon
2ml nutmeg

Wet Ingredients
250ml Buttermilk
125ml sunflower oil
2 eggs
5ml vanilla essence

Topping
1 tub cream cheese
2 tbsp. brown sugar
1 tbsp. orange or lemon juice

Combine the dry and wet ingredients and mix well.  Grease a 12 hole muffin pan and scoop enough batter to cover to the half way mark of each muffin hole.  Bake in pre-heated oven.  Once done remove from oven and allow to cool on a wire cooling rack. 

For the topping
Mix all ingredients for the topping and place in the fridge for 30 minutes.  When muffins are cooled right down, scoop a dollop of cream chesse on each muffin. Enjoy with your favourite cup of coffee or tea.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Carrot & Sunflower Seed Muffins

  1. Love the pic! 😉

  2. what a beautiful pic

Leave a Reply

