Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

1-2-3 Hake

My mom will testify to the fact that I hated fish when I was growing up. I despised everything about it; the smell, the look and the taste. When we went grocery shopping I’d stand very far away from the seafood counter, in fact I’d wait in another isle till my mom was finished with her order. The “bizarreness” about my hatred for fish was that I developed a love for “bokkoms” at a very young age. Trips up the West Coast with my cousins was where I was introduced to this absolutely gorgeous salty sun dried little fish which is strung up in bunches and left to dry in the sun. Together with its potent fishy smell, the intact little “body” with head, eyeballs and all, and the fact that it was raw didn’t detract from the general feelings about my relationship with fish.

Bokkoms picture courtesy of Pelican Post Self Catering Accommodation. Click HERE to be redirected to their website.

As I grew older my tolerance for fish became less and less of an issue. As it stands now, I cannot live without it. I cook it at least once a week and when my family and I go out for dinner, I mostly order fish. Fresh fish as we know it is the preferable option so always head out for your local fish monger(most large supermarkets have in-house ones) and make sure that the fish they sell is certified sustainable seafood and approved by the Marine Stewardship Council (click http://www.msc.org/newsroom/news/marine-stewardship-council-inaugurates-southern-1 for more information).
I have a recipe that was passed down from a friend that I absolutely love. It requires 3 – 4 ingredients and takes about 40 minutes to bake.

You will need
1 Tub Cream
1 Packet of White Onion soup
2 cups of peas (fresh or frozen) – optional
600g of fresh hake

Method:
Place the hake in a casserole dish. Sprinkle with a teaspoon of salt. Mix the onion soup, peas and cream together. Add a bit of milk if the mixture is too thick. Pour over the fish and bake in a pre-heated oven (180 degrees) for 40 minutes. Serve with rice or mashed potato or if you are eating Carb free, opt for salad.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

