Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Warm pasta, pea and blue cheese salad

The recipe that I am about to share with you was inspired by a friend of mine as well as by a “hand-down” recipe book I received from another friend.

My family and I recently attended dinner at a friend’s house. Her husband prepared the most succulent fillet steak on the coals served with a creamy blue cheese sauce which he himself made. It was delicious. No doubt a braai is not complete without an array of beautiful salads which are normally prepared by the hostess. I am yet to attend a braai where the “man” has made the salads too. No disrespect intended towards the opposite sex but I’m merely referring to the norm. Our hostess brought out this delicious pea, ham and pasta salad which (strangely) I had never had before. I fell in love with its flavours and looked forward to trying it out myself.

Paging through a “hand-down” recipe book this morning, what do I stumble upon? Yip, you guessed it, a recipe very similar to that of my friend. I decided to make a couple of changes to this salad by making it Gluten free and adding other elements of my own. It’s a wonderfully light and fresh salad and can be eaten as a meal on its own.

You will need:
375g Gluten free pasta shells
200g frozen baby peas (defrosted)
½ cup coarsely chopped fresh mint
1 packet bacon bits
1 chorizo sausage (cubed)
Grated rind of 1 lemon
150g Blue cheese (cubed)

Buttermilk Aïoli – Add all ingredients together and combine well.

100g mayonnaise
50g buttermilk
Juice of a lemon
1 clove of garlic crushed

Cook pasta as per instructions and set aside.
Heat a bit of olive oil in a heavy based saucepan and fry bacon and chorizo together. Add the chopped mint, peas and lemon rind. Add the drained pasta, aïoli and lastly the blue cheese chunks. Toss well and serve.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Warm pasta, pea and blue cheese salad

  1. pinkpolkad0tfood on said:

    Klink heerlik!! Lyk my jy is so mal oor ertjies in die laaste tyd soos wat ek oor varkvleis is! 🙂

  2. LOL, do get the whole man making salad thing. Had mine once make me a salad which was actually quite good, with lettuce, tomato, onion and cucumber … the love and effort it was made with made it all that much more tastier…. 😉

Leave a Reply

