Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Rum and Raisin Cheesecake

We’ve been in our new house for just over a week now and during this time I have been stressing about using my gas oven without any unpleasant incidents, namely burning food or worse, igniting the house into a flurry of flames. For the past 20+ years I’ve only known an electric oven and have been told that cooking or baking with gas is totally different. I had to start somewhere and also come to my own conclusions about gas cooking. I decided to bake a recipe from a Woman & Home booklet called Dinner Collection. It’s one of my favourite baked recipes because I absolutely love cheesecake. The two core ingredients in this cheesecake are also my favourite ice-cream combination and that is rum and raisin. It is so good that I had a slice for breakfast.
Gas baking conclusion: I found it easy and straight forward and my cheesecake was baked to perfection.

You will need:
75g sultanas
5 Tbsp. rum
300g ginger nut biscuits (crushed)
50-60g butter (melted)
800g Lancewood cream cheese
200g castor sugar
Pinch of salt
2 Tbsp. vanilla extract
3 large free-range eggs

Method:
Soak the sultanas in the rum and leave overnight.
Mix together the biscuits and butter and line the bottom of a 23cm (greased) spring form cake tin. Place in the fridge until ready to use.
Whip the cream cheese. When soft and fluffy add the sugar and whisk again. Add salt and vanilla and beat once more. Slowly add the eggs one at a time. Drain the sultanas and stir them into the mixture. Pour into cake tin and place on a baking sheet. Bake in a preheated oven of 150 degrees for 1 hour 30 minutes. Turn the oven off and leave the cake to cool in the oven overnight . Dust with icing sugar and serve. The cheesecake will keep for up to 3 days in the fridge.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Rum and Raisin Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Charmin’ Cheesecake | What's On the Stove?

Leave a Reply

