Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

My Taste of Durban 2013 experience

I was one of a couple of privileged Food Bloggers in Durban to receive complementary tickets to the “Taste of Durban” 2013 experience. And WOW! What an experience it was. On our (hubby and myself) “Media Cards” which we had to keep and guard like gold, we had access to taste dishes of our choice from 6 restaurants, visit the Lindt Chocolate Studio and choose a drink from 13 premium drink sponsors – needless to say I was in food heaven!
From Hartford House, our neighbour in the beautiful Mooiriver area of KZN, to the charming and gorgeous Executive Chef Jackie Cameron of Hartford House, to sampling food and alcohol, posing for photos and best of all meeting fellow foodies whom I have been chatting to and following on Twitter for some time now. I met Sue Green of Souschef2 and “himself”. What a lovely couple. Sue truly has a wonderful sense of humour and had me in stitches a lot of the time. I met the very bubbly Verushka from “Spice Goddess” and again had a great connection with her. I also met up with fellow Durbanite and very close neighbour Nicola Meyer who is an avid Scrapbooker and again our meeting felt as though I had know her for years. What a great privilege it is to make new friends which is based on a common love for food. I am a firm believer that food brings people together and that our greatest asset in our homes to unite people and to form and maintain friendships is the dining room table.

One of my favourites of the day.  I had the Strawberry Daiquiri and hubby had the Pina Colada

One of my favourites of the day. I had the Strawberry Daiquiri and hubby had the Pina Colada

Those Vuvuzela styled flutes were the "cocktail glasses" - so cool

Those Vuvuzela styled flutes were the “cocktail glasses” – so cool

Chef Jackie Cameron in action demonstrating how quick and easy it is to prepare pan seared hake (SASSI friendly)

Chef Jackie Cameron in action demonstrating how quick and easy it is to prepare pan seared hake (SASSI friendly)

Jackie demonstrating an easy three step red wine jus

Jackie demonstrating an easy three step red wine jus

Salmon fish cakes from Havana Grill (www.havanagrill.co.za)

Salmon fish cakes from Havana Grill (www.havanagrill.co.za)

My personal favourite of the day - crumbed calamari from Little Havana (www.littlehavana.co.za) I could have eaten truck loads of the stuff!

My personal favourite of the day – crumbed calamari from Little Havana (www.littlehavana.co.za) I could have eaten truck loads of the stuff!

More calamari - like I said, I could eat truck loads

More calamari – like I said, I could eat truck loads

Ice Tropez 6.5%, the original product, it's a beautiful blend of Rose wine, Fleur de Brugnon (peach flavour) and carbonated water - cooldrink in my view!

Ice Tropez 6.5%, the original product, it’s a beautiful blend of Rose wine, Fleur de Brugnon (peach flavour) and carbonated water – cooldrink in my view!

Hubby on the right purchasing his favourite........coffee!

Hubby on the right purchasing his favourite……..coffee! On the left is Sudhashan who is the national franchise holder of the Gloria Jean’s Coffee brand

At the Asara stand, I had the choice of an assortment of chocolate or a burger.........you don't have to guess what I chose

At the Asara stand, I had the choice of an assortment of chocolate or a burger………you don’t have to guess what I chose

Consol Mixology cocktail - awesomeness in a consol jar - so trendy!

Consol Mixology cocktail – awesomeness in a consol jar – so trendy!

Meeting lovely Verushka (on the left)

Meeting lovely Verushka (on the left)

What was a dark chocolate platter at Castle Milk Stout

What was a dark chocolate platter at Castle Milk Stout

Mixing liquor and beer - definitely works for me

Mixing liquor and beer – definitely works for me

aaaaaah!!!! A castle milk stout infused with hazelnut

aaaaaah!!!! A castle milk stout infused with hazelnut

Hostesses at Castle Milk stout - I'm either shrinking with age or the heels are getting higher #midget

Hostesses at Castle Milk stout – I’m either shrinking with age or the heels are getting higher #midget

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “My Taste of Durban 2013 experience

  1. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both, how come we didn’t take a pic…duh!

  2. What a lovely overview of Taste of Durban! Goodness, what I would give to have some 0f that calamari right now.

  3. Pingback: Original Cocktails – Join the Cocktail Revolution | Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Leave a Reply

