Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Cheese and Marmite Sponge Cake

When I saw this cake for the first time my reaction was pretty much the same as yours is probably now. I couldn’t for the life of me imagine it tasting remotely delicious. Seeing as I’m quite a free spirit, I love to try new flavours and flavour combinations so this was right up my alley and without hesitation took my first bite. It kind of reminded me of when my daughter was young and asked me to taste her toast one morning. It looked like mud but hey, the things we do for our kids. Her concoction was fabulous. She combined peanut butter and Bovril on her toast and this cake reminded me of that. It has a sweet, salty, savoury flavour and I just love it. By the way, my one bite when I first tried it turned out to be 3 pieces of cake later; No kidding! I tasted this cake first at one of our Bible Study meetings so thanks Julie for the inspiration!
Cheese and Marmite Sponge Cake
For the Sponge Cake you will need:
1.5 cups of cake flour
1 cup of castor sugar
1 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of Bicarb of soda
2 eggs
1 cup oil
1 cup milk
1 cup finely grated cheddar cheese
25 – 30ml marmite
Method
Sift flour, sugar, baking powder and bicarb in a bowl. Add wet ingredients and mix well with an electric hand beater ensuring no lumps. Transfer into a square baking tin (23 x 23cm) and bake in a preheated oven of 165 degrees Celsius for 45 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.
Once the cake is baked and cooled completely, spead with a thin layer of marmite or Bovril and sprinkle finely grated cheese ontop.
Cheese and Marmite Sponge Cake

Cheese and Marmite Sponge Cake

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

