Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Black Cherry Yoghurt Cake

I got this recipe when I tuned into the popular SABC 3 Expresso Breakfast Show this morning.  It is so easy and versatile, you can use any flavoured yoghurt you wish and the easiest part is you measure all your ingredients using the 175ml yoghurt cup that your yoghurt came in.  I was so excited when I tried it myself after watching the show that I couldn’t resist sharing it with you on my blog.  You have to try it because it’s delicious, the ingredients are on hand and there’s minimal washing up.  YAY!!!  You can log on HERE to view the original recipe from the show.
Black Cherry Yoghurt Cake
You will need:
175ml yoghurt (any flavour – I used Black Cherry)
1 cup (the yoghurt cup) of oil
dash of vanilla essence
2 yoghurt cups of castor sugar
3 eggs
3 yoghurt cups of flour (I used cake flour – If you use self raising flour leave out the baking powder)
2 tsp. baking powder
Black Cherry Yoghurt Cake
Method:
Mix all ingredients together until batter is smooth. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Transfer mixture into a greased ringed baking dish or whatever cake tin you have and bake for 1 hour or until a cake tester comes out clean.
You can top with the same flavoured yoghurt once cooled as I did or you can make a yoghurt frosting by mixing 3 yoghurt cups of icing sugar with half a cup of flavoured yoghurt and just drizzle over the top (see original recipe). Enjoy with a lovely cup of tea.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Black Cherry Yoghurt Cake

  1. Mmm that looks soo good!!

Leave a Reply

