Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

A morning at the iHeart Market in Durban

I have never posted a “lifestyle blog” before but have decided to create a category for this purpose as it is so awesome to share the wonderful happenings in and around Durban as I experience them for myself. My Blog is predominantly food but where there’s food involved such as markets and obviously restaurant’s I feel I can include them as they are of interest to me and hopefully you’ll enjoy them too. We live in such a wonderful diverse City which is truly growing and being “put on the map” so to say in line with other more cosmopolitan Cities such as Cape Town and Johannesburg. We have a fantastic array of markets in Durban itself as well as in the countryside areas such as Hillcrest and the Midlands Meander. This past Saturday I spent a lovely day with friends starting off at the very popular iHeart Market with Nicola Meyer (@NicolaLMeyer) which is situated at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban. It was a scorcher of a day but we managed to stay in the shaded areas as much as possible. The Market has a wide selection of “tables” ranging from clothing, soaps, jewelry, food, cakes, home décor and “white elephant” tables which is my favourite. I love rummaging through other peoples “throw away stuff” – Not junk but good stuff. The only downfall of the morning for me was that I had no cash so my advise to you is to have your purse full! Although there are ATM’s at the Stadium, most of the stalls don’t have debit card machines. I had a great morning with Nicola and have uploaded some photo’s for you to enjoy.

Beautiful Protea's for sale

Beautiful Protea’s for sale

Nicola and I

Nicola and I

Beautiful assortment of cakes from Margaret Wasserfall

Beautiful assortment of cakes from Margaret Wasserfall

Rainbow Cake made by Margaret Wasserfall

Rainbow Cake made by Margaret Wasserfall

Plum Tart also by Margaret Wasserfall

Plum Tart also by Margaret Wasserfall

Macaroons by Daniela's - info@danielas.co.za

Macaroons by Daniela’s – info@danielas.co.za

Macaroons by Daniela's - info@danielas.co.za

Macaroons by Daniela’s – info@danielas.co.za

An assortment of olives

An assortment of olives

The best cupcakes in town by Smith's Bake Shop - www.smithsbakeshop.co.za

The best cupcakes in town by Smith’s Bake Shop – http://www.smithsbakeshop.co.za

More delicious cupcakes by Smith's Bake Shop

More delicious cupcakes by Smith’s Bake Shop

Mini Tartlets

Mini Tartlets

More mini tartlets

More mini tartlets

By this time, Nicola and I were starving so at about 10:30am we made our way to Umhlanga to meet up with a few of our other blogger friends. We met at a stunning little restaurant/Bistro called Vovotelo. I’ll tell you more about that in my next blog post.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A morning at the iHeart Market in Durban

  1. louise eksteen. beautiful photo of u and nicola. wish I was there everything looks so yummy pro diabetics lol on said:

    Lovely photo of u and nicola. Wish I was there. Food looks yummy pro diabetics lol

Leave a Reply

