Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Grilled Calamari with Olives and Cabanossi

As a lover of all things pastry and bread, I find it very hard to get onto the LCHF (Low Carb, High Fat) bandwagon.  BUT, being very “easy” when it comes to food, I am quite happy to give it a try, so off I went to Exclusive Books to purchased Prof. Tim Noake’s book “The Real Meal Revolution”. The images alone are absolutely beautiful making you want to jump into the pages and eat everything in sight. This book has motivated and encouraged me to try the “banting” hype which most people I know in the food industry are raving about. I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to keep it up based on my life long obsession with bread, so without placing myself under too much pressure, I’ll give it a casual go.
The first recipe which inspired me from The Real Meal Revolution is a grilled Calamari dish because I love seafood so much.  I’ve adapted the recipe slightly with a few of my favourite ingredients.
Grilled Calamari with Olives and Cabanossi
You will need:
50g butter
500g calamari rings
50g Cabanossi (sliced)
1 red pepper (diced)
1 cup of marinated green & black olives stuffed with feta
1 Tbsp minced garlic
2.5ml smoked paprika
30g anchovy fillets (chopped)
Grilled Calamari with Olives and Cabanossi
Instructions:
Melt the butter in a heavy based frying pan. Add the olives, cabanossi and anchovy fillets. Sauté till the cabanossi is crisp. The anchovy fillets will disintegrate which is fine because the butter will hold the flavor and juices. Remove the cabanossi and olives and set aside. In the remaining juices add the red pepper and garlic and sauté till peppers are done. Add the calamari rings, smoked paprika, olives and cabanossi and allow to cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes. A delicious meal that can serve 2 people depending on your appetite.
Grilled Calamari with Olives and Cabanossi

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

