Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Piccalilli ( A relish of chopped pickled vegetables and spices)

For me personally condiments add that extra “oomph” to most meals, whether lunch or supper.  I regularly stock up on relishes such as vegetable atchar, which my husband loves and which I am planning on making in the near future. Click Here and Here for recipes of other condiments I’ve made in the past.
Piccalilli
What would a Pastrami open sandwich be without a generous dollop of Piccalilli? I say “boring”.  When I came across this recipe in the March 2014 issue of Fresh Living, I had to try it.  I’m not disappointed and have gone as far as adding it to my list of favourite recipes.
Piccalilli
I hope you enjoy the delicious curry flavours as much as I do.
You will need:
1 onion
1 small head of cauliflower broken up into small florets
7.5ml mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp tumeric
2 Tbsp hot English mustard
125ml castor sugar
2 cloves crushed garlic
375ml white wine vinegar
2 Tbsp cornflour
Instructions
Bring seeds, spices, mustard, sugar, garlic and vinegar to the boil.  Add onion and cauliflower and simmer for 5 minutes.  Add a dash of water to cornflour to make a smooth paste.  Add paste to cauliflower mixture and cook till thickened.  Allow to cool.  Spoon into a sterilised jar and seal.   Refrigerate.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

