Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Apple Crumble – a winter warmer

When I have a craving for something I will literally cause myself to go mental just thinking about it. It’s the only thought that occupies my mind at the time until that food craving has been satisfied.
Apple Crumble
Last Sunday I had that exact type of craving and thankfully it wasn’t going to be an effort to satisfy except for the 30 minute wait while said food desire was baking.
Apple Crumble
You guessed it; my Sunday hankering was for the delectable and mouth-watering, Apple Crumble.
Thankfully I had all the ingredients at hand, including the 8 apples needed to make this quick and super easy winter warmer of a dessert which is perfect for a chilly Sunday afternoon tea.

You will need:
8 Golden delicious apples
160ml sugar
30ml cake flour
10ml cinnamon
30ml butter
For the crumble:
250ml cake flour
200ml sugar
5ml cinnamon
90ml butter
Method:
Heat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Peel apples and place in a bowl with cold water and a pinch of salt to prevent them from turning brown. Core, halve and thinly slice the apples. Place in a mixing bowl and add sugar, flour, cinnamon and melted butter. Mix well and spoon into an ovenproof dish.
For the topping, mix the flour, sugar and cinnamon in a mixing bowl. Dice butter and add. Rub butter into flour mixture until it resembles bread crumbs. Spoon on top of apples and place in oven. Bake for about 30 minutes and serve hot with whipped cream.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Apple Crumble – a winter warmer

  1. This recipe seems so easy! I love apple crumble so I think that this will be dessert in the Joseph home tonight 🙂

  2. Nicola Meyer on said:

    I cheat and use pie apples and I also add raisins in – they go so plump and juicy. Nothing better than apple crumble!

  3. Pingback: Apple Crumble Cake | Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Leave a Reply

