Snap, Sizzle & Cook

Sharing my love of food

Lemon Meringue Pie

I recently made a confession to my friend and fellow blogger Nicola Meyer from the blog, Run on Coffee that I’d never made a Lemon Meringue Pie before. If you grew up in South Africa the chances are that you’ve made a Lemon Meringue Pie are pretty high, except of course if you’re me! In my defense though, I had a bad experience with a Lemon Meringue Pie and was put off in my mind, for life! It is for this reason the very sweet, sticky, traditional South African bake has never made it onto my top 10 list of customary dishes to create.
Lemon Meringue Pie
Nicola challenged me and asked me to try the Lemon Meringue Pie that she has been making for her family for many years, which they absolutely love. I trust my friend and her better judgement of food (I’ve got experience in her good food choices) and so set myself the task of baking this family favourite of theirs. Needless to say I’m a reformed Lemon Meringue Pie skeptic. Firstly the recipe is practical and easy to follow and most importantly the outcome is, in the words of my friend, amazing!
If you would like to make this delicious bake for your family, you will need:
DSC_0015 (627x418)
For the Pastry:
113g margarine
2 Tablespoons sugar
2 Tablespoons oil
1 egg
2 cups flour
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
Cream the margarine and sugar then add oil. Add beaten egg, flour and baking powder. Divide the mixture in half. Press one half into a 20cm round oven proof pie dish and freeze the other half for later use. Prick the base and bake at 180C for 10 – 12 minutes.
Filling:
1 tin condensed milk
½ cup of lemon juice
2 egg yolks
2 egg whites
2 Tablespoons of sugar
Mix condensed milk, lemon juice and beaten egg yolks. Add grated lemon rind if desired. Pour into the pie crust. Cover with the meringue which you made by beating the 2 egg whites, adding 50ml castor sugar gradually while beating until stiff consistency. Bake at 150C for approximately 30 minutes or until meringue is golden. Serve cold.

For the original recipe click here (http://runoncoffee.blogspot.co.za/2014/10/baking-series-lemon-meringue-pie.html)
DSC_0014 (627x418)

DSC_0012 (627x418)

DSC_0022 (627x418)

DSC_0021 (627x418)

DSC_0020 (627x418)

DSC_0019 (627x418)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

